Skip to content Skip to navigation

Mohr Visiting Poets

Each year, the Creative Writing Program welcomes a distinguished poet to teach a Stanford writing seminar to undergraduates. These unique classes are kept small--limited to no more than 15 students--and they focus on a subject of the writer’s expertise and choosing. The writer also holds a public reading and discussion.

For dates, times, and locations of their scheduled readings, visit our Events page. These seminars are made possible with the generous support of Lawrence and Nancy Mohr.

The Sonnet - Spring 2021

In this course, we will look at the sonnet’s history in English, from its 16th century beginnings to the contemporary period. Readings will range from Shakespeare, Wyatt, and Donne to 20th-century poets including McKay, Brooks, Frost, and Sexton, all the way up to the contemporary period, where we will read poets including Wanda Coleman, Jennifer Chang, Eduardo Corral, Lyn Hejinian, and Ada Limón. What has made the sonnet so lasting? What is its particular appeal to queer and BIPOC poets? What is the sonnet’s relationship to risk? We will consider these and other questions as we explore the sonnet as a form and as a psychology. In addition to reading, students will write their own sonnets along the way. Think of this course as a shared quest toward greater understanding of the sonnet’s tradition, its distinct modernity, and its capacity for innovation.

Enrollment in the during Spring Quarter course is through the Course Preference Form. 


Ada Limón

Visiting Professor, Creative Writing

Carl Phillips

Visiting Professor, Creative Writing

Mohr Visiting Poets List

Louise Glück 2019-2020
Louise Glück 2018-2019
Louise Glück 2017-2018
Robert Pinsky 2016-2017
Jane Hirshfield 2015-2016
Louise Glück 2014-2015
Ann Carson 2012-2013
Louise Glück 2011-2012
Stephen Dobyns 2010-2011
Kay Ryan 2009-2010
Max Doty 2008-2009
Robert Bly 2007-2008
Robert Pinsky 2006-2007
Li-Young Lee 2005-2006
Heather McHugh 2004-2005
Thom Gunn 2003-2004
Yusef Komunyakaa 2002-2003
Robert Hass 2001-2002