Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rona Jaffe Foundation Award

 Solmaz Sharif picture
Photo credit: Arash Saedinia
Sep 18 2014

Posted In:


Former Stegner Fellow and current Jones Lecturer, Solmaz Sharif will receive 2014 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award, which is given annually to six women writers who demonstrate excellence and promise in the early stages of their careers. Celebrating its 20 year anniversary, the Rona Jaffe Awards have helped many women build successful writing careers by offering encouragement and financial support at a critical time. The Awards are $30,000 each and will be presented to the six recipients onSeptember 18, 2014 in New York City.

Celebrated novelist Rona Jaffe (1931-2005) established The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards program in 1995. It is the only national literary awards program of its kind dedicated to supporting women writers exclusively. Since the program began, the Foundation has awarded nearly $2 million to emergent women writers, including several who have gone on to critical acclaim, such as Elif Batuman, Eula Biss, Lan Samantha Chang, Rivka Galchen, Aryn Kyle, Rebecca Lee, ZZ Packer, , Tracy K. Smith, Mary Szybist, and Tiphanie Yanique.

Read more on the Rona Jaffe Foundation website HERE.